(a) Lifetime Achievement Award

The International Lifetime Achievement Award is given for significant, continuous contributions to the development of gas hydrate research and/or technology for more than twenty (20) years. To nominate individuals (one or more) for the Lifetime Achievement Awards, please send the following information by email to Professor Praveen Linga (, National University of Singapore no later than October 1, 2019:

  1. a nomination letter, citing the rational for the award to the nominee
  2. the curriculum vitae (CV) of the nominee

The ICGH10 International Scientific Committee (ISC) will evaluate the nomination package and determine the recipient(s) of the Lifetime Achievement Award(s). The award(s) will be given according to the evaluation criteria of the ICGH10 ISC with a comparison with the previous recipients of Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Past recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Awards:
2004 – Raj P Bishnoi, University of Calgary
2008 – Yuri Makogon, Texas A & M University
2008 – Keith Kvenvolden, United States Geological Survey
2011 – Erwin Suess, University of Kiel and Oregon State University
2011 – Dendy Sloan, Colorado School of Mines
2014 – John Ripmeester, National Research Council of Canada
2014 – Ulfert Klomp, Royal Dutch Shell
2014 – Huen Lee, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
2017 – Bahman Tohidi, Heriot-Watt University
2017 – Miriam Kastner, University of California San Diego
2017 – Ryo Matsumoto, Meiji University
2017 – Keijo Kinnari, Statoil (now Equinor)

(b) Donald W. Davidson Award

The Donald W. Davidson Award is presented to early career independent researcher (less than 40 years old or within 10 years from obtaining her/his PhD) who has made outstanding contributions and advancement to the field of gas hydrate. The nomination package shall include:

  1. a nomination letter justifying the nominee’s contribution to the hydrate fields
  2. the curriculum vitae (CV) of the nominee

Please send the nomination package by email to Professor Praveen Linga (, National University of Singapore no later than October 1, 2019. The award presentation will be made during the conference banquet.

Past recipients of the Donald W. Davidson Award:
2008 – Michael Riedel, McGill University
2011 – Ross Anderson, Heriot-Watt University
2014 – Joo Yong Lee, Korean Institute of Geoscience & Mineral Resources
2017 – Praveen Linga, National University of Singapore
2017 – Zachary Aman, The University of Western Australia

(c) Outstanding PhD Thesis Award​

To recognize doctoral candidates of the outstanding research qualities and the achievement in gas hydrate research, the Outstanding PhD Thesis Award will be given to the individuals who have received their PhD doctoral degrees within the three year period from January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2019. The theses will be ranked based on the following criteria:

  1. Innovation in research methods
  2. Development of enabling technologies
  3. Research impact

The awards will be presented during the conference banquet of ICGH10 with a certificate citing the contribution made by the recipient. The award winner must be present at ICGH10 in order to receive this award.

The nomination and supporting information should be sent to Professor Praveen Linga (, National University of Singapore by January 27, 2020. The nomination package should contain the following:

  1. A one-page nomination letter from the nominee’s supervisor
  2. List of journal publications arising from the PhD thesis work (the supervisor should establish the links of the thesis chapters to the publications in the nomination letter)
  3. One-page impact statement on the impact of the research including outcomes, citation analysis, list of awards, and the visibility to the hydrate community
  4. Evidence of doctorate thesis completion or degree conferment date
  5. A two-page curriculum vitae (CV) of the candidate
  6. Electronic pdf copy of the PhD thesis (must be in English)

The Awardee(s) will be notified by March 2, 2020 to complete early registration for ICGH10.
Past recipients of the Outstanding PhD Thesis award:
2017 – Ponnivalavan Babu, National University of Singapore
2017 – Ewa Burwicz-Galerne, GEOMAR
2017 – Ahmad A. A. Majid, Colorado School of Mines